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First of all, I wish everyone a happy and prosperous 2015. Chinese New Year is just 

around the corner and I also wish everyone a peaceful Year of the Goat.  

 

This is the Golden Jubilee year of the Asia Pacific Bridge Federation Championships; 

which started as the Far East Bridge Federation Championships in 1957, renamed the 

Pacific Asia Bridge Federation Championships in 1996 and again renamed in 2012. We 

can look forward to the celebration in May in Bangkok! Happy bridging. 



2 

 APBF Zone 6 TD Newsletter January 2015 

2015 Major Confirmed Events in Our Zone 
 

 20th NEC Bridge Festival 

  Yokohama, Japan     10 - 15 February 2015 

 

 20th Asia Pacific Bridge Federation Youth Championships  

  Bangkok, Thailand     1 - 7 April 2015 

 

 2015 Yeh Brothers Cup 

  Shanghai, China     8 - 12 April 2015 

 

 50th Asia Pacific Bridge Federation Championships 

  Bangkok, Thailand     21 - 31 May 2015 

 

 37th Bangkok Bank  ASEAN Bridge Club Championships 

  Bangkok, Thailand     24 - 29 November 2015 

Amendments to the WBF General Conditions of Contest 
 

Section 25 Screen Regulations 

 

In section 25.1 the following sentence is added: 

A player who removes one or more of his bidding cards from the tray in an apparent     

attempt to “pass” is indeed deemed to have “passed”. 

 

At the end of 25.2 (c) the following sentence is added: 

Therefore the tournament director cannot make enquiries on a player’s behalf on the 

other side of the screen during the auction or play. 

 

Section 25.3(g)is amended as follows: 

 

Failure to do as (f) provides may persuade the Director it was the partner who drew     

attention to the break in tempo. If so he may well rule there was no perceived delay and 

thus no unauthorized information. A delay in passing the tray of up to 20 seconds is not 

normally regarded as significant. If the players have not been randomizing the tempo of the 

auction as desired by section 25.1 paragraph 3, then a delay of than 20 seconds may well 

be regarded as being significant.  
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Board 25 

Dealer: N,  Vul: EW 

(Misinformation) 

 

 

 

 

(Teams, Round Robin) 
 
 (1)  N -> E Natural 

      S -> W  fit raise in  
       

Result: 2NT by S-1   NS –50 
 

Facts: 
 

The TD was called by West after play has 

ended. She claimed that had she known the 

“real” meaning of 2NT, she would not have 

passed. 4  can be made on this hand. 

Ruling: 

 

On further investigation, the TD found that 

NS did not have an agreement on the 2NT 

after a double. Normally jump bid by a 

passed hand is a fit raise. There is nothing 

on the CC to justify one way or another in 

this case. The TD hence ruled that NS had 

an infraction according to Laws 40A & 40B. 

The TD consulted 4 experts, asking them 

what they would do if 2NT was natural  

and what if it was a fit raise. All of them 

would either pass or bid irrespective of the 

meaning of the 2NT bid. The TD hence 

ruled that EW’s damage was not a direct 

result of the infraction and the table score 

stands. 

 

Post Mortem: 

 

Would you consider that the jump to 2NT 

should fall into the category of a fit jump? 

 

TDs should also advised the players in their 

NBOs to be more specific in their        

convention cards, especially with passed 

hand treatments and when there are      

interferences.  

The following cases came from international events in the past year. 

 

 KJ9 

 K3 

 QT96 

 Q982 

 

 AQ74 

 A9754 

 - 

 T753 

N 

 

 
 

 852 

 QT62 

 K43 

  AKJ 

 

 T63 

 J8 

 AJ8752 

 64 

 

W N E S 

 P 1  1  

x 2NT(1) AP  
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Board 8 

Dealer: W, Vul: None 

(Misinformation) 

 

 

 
 

 

(Women Pairs) 

 
(1)  Precision, 16+ 
(2)  8-13, balanced 
(3)  Relay 
(4)  11-13, any 4333 
(5)  Relay 
(6)  E -> N 3343 

    W -> S 3334 

 

 Lead:  2  

 Result: 3NT by E +1  NS –430 

 

Facts: 

 

The TD was called by South when the play 

has ended. She complained that had she 

known the “real” meaning of 3NT, she 

could have led  Q and declarer could be 

held to 9 tricks. 

Ruling: 

 

On further investigation, the TD found that 

3NT in EW’s agreement is 3343. Hence 

there is an  infraction by W. To determine 

whether NS’s damage is directly related to 

the infraction, the TD polled expert players 

with the question, given the correct   

meaning of all the bids, “what will you lead 

with S’s hand”. Most experts consulted 

would have led the  Q. When the TD 

asked further, the reason they gave was 

that West bidding seemed to be worried 

about a doubleton in her hand and was 

probably attempting to find a 4-3 major fit. 

The doubleton will likely be  in this case 

and the lead of  Q rather than a small  

will not give away anything. On the lead of 

 Q, West will need an almost double-

dummy play to make 10 tricks. The TD 

hence adjusted the score to: 

 

 75% 3NT by W =, NS –400 

 25% 3NT by W +1, NS –430 

 

Post-mortem: 

 

At first it appeared odd for South to lead 

the  Q and the TD may only give a small  

% of 3NT= to NS. “Be warned” that TD 

should not be making arbitrary decisions 

without going through the consultation 

process. This is a typical case where the 

consultation result “surprised” the TD.  

 

  T8 

 Q952 

  JT43 

  763 

 

 K753 

 AJ6 

 KQ87 

 A9 

N 

 

 
 

 J96 

 K84 

 A965 

 KT5 

 

 AQ42 

 T73 

 2 

 QJ842 

 

W N E S 

1 (1) P 1NT(2) P 

2 (3) P 2NT(4) P 

3 (5) P 3NT(6) AP 
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Board 19 

Dealer: S, Vul: EW 

(Misinformation) 

 

 

 

 

 

 

(Women Pairs) 

 
(1) E -> N +, FG 

   W -> S  support, short  

        but after pre-emp could 

        be  suit instead, not sure 

        which 

 

 Result: 6  x by S -5   NS -1,100 

 

Facts: 

 

The TD was called by South when the play 

was over. She claimed that she has been 

misinformed. Had she known the “real” 

meaning of 4 , she might not have bid on 

and EW might have played in 5  or 5 . 

Ruling: 

 

On further investigation, the TD found that 

in EW’s agreement a single jump over an 

overcall is fit raise while a double jump is a 

Splinter. However, there is no explicit  

agreement after a pre-emptive overcall as 

now a Splinter at the 5-level would have 

been too high. The explanations as stated 

before were written and West was actually 

not sure which was correct. However, the 

TDs concluded that if South was concerned 

about the meaning of the 4  bid and was 

not satisfied with the explanation given, the 

TD should have been called. This should not 

have happened at the end of the play. The 

TDs ruled that although there was an      

infraction by South, the damage was        

self-inflicted as South could have been   

protected if the TD was called earlier. The 

TD hence ruled that the table result stands. 

 

Post-mortem: 

 

In most international tournaments, there 

may be quite a lot of communication   

problems due to language barrier. Such was 

not the case here. TDs should remind their 

players that the TDs attempt to provide a 

level playing field for all participants, but can 

only do so if the players also protect them-

selves. Trying to play with a double-edged 

sword will usually not give you a good     

result.  

 

W N E S 

   P 

1  3  4 (1) 4  

5  5  P 6  

x AP   

 

 J763 

 2 

 T4 

 QT9854 

 

 A982 

 AK754 

 965 

 A 

N 

 

 
 

 T5 

 J98 

 AKQJ72 

 73 

 

 KQ4 

 QT63 

 83 

 KJ62 

 



6 

 APBF Zone 6 TD Newsletter January 2015 

Q : A pair was found using 2  opening as weak 2 

in either major, or a gambling 3NT type hand 

with either minor. Is this allowed? If not, then 

what should we do when they reached an 

otherwise difficult to bid 5  doubled contract 

and made? 

 

A : This is a Brown Sticker convention, and is 

normally not allowed unless your conditions 

of contest state otherwise. When a pair is  

using such a convention, it will be subject to a 

disciplinary penalty of up to 2 VPs according 

to APBF General Conditions of Contest 15.1. 

In addition, the score will be adjusted if the 

opponents are damaged as a result, and the 

pair will not play again until the convention 

card is properly corrected to the satisfaction 

of the CTD. In adjusting the score, the table 

result is usually cancelled. The score of the 

offending pair’s teammate will normally be 

compared against the datum and the team’s 

result on this board will be -3 IMPs or the  

result of the comparison, which is least      

favourable. 

 

Q : We were organising a national event and   

participants were required to file their      

convention cards by a certain deadline. Some 

of them did not despite several reminders. 

What can we do? 

A : My suggestion is to add in the Conditions of 

Contest that for those failing to file the     

convention cards, they will be required to play 

the WBF Standard Card. 

 

Q : Playing with screens, I asked my screenmate 

what his partner’s bid meant. He wrote down 

something which I thought I understood. In 

fact, there were 2 possibilities and said he 

wasn’t sure which was correct. I took the 

wrong view and got a bad result. I called the 

TD but did not get any redress. Why? 

 

A : You should have called the TD when your  

opponent could not explain to you clearly. 

“Don’t assume”. Otherwise, you were 

deemed to be satisfied with the explanation. 

You will be taking your own risk and any  

damage would have been subsequent. 

 

Q : At the end of the play , we discovered that 

declarer had started with only 12 cards. The 

missing card was quite insignificant to the  

contract. Should we have called the TD? 

 

A : You should have. According to Law 14B4, the 

card is deemed to be in declarer’s hand all the 

time and he might have committed a revoke 

by not following with that card. 

Questions & Answers 

(Email to: awching@netvigator.com) 

Clarification 

In the WBF Systems Policy Section 2.4.f), it states that “For the avoidance of doubt an opening bid of one 

club which may be made on a doubleton or singleton club and which is ostensibly natural and non-forcing 

should be regarded as natural and not artificial”. I wish to clarify that although the 1  bid is considered 

not artificial in this situation, the bid is alertable in the WBF Alerting Policy. Individual NBO may wish to 

differ in their own alerting policy. 

In Section 7 of the WBF System Policy, it states that “A System, for the purpose of this section, may 

include different methods for different vulnerabilities”. This is adopted by the APBF in its championships 

and congress. However, the APBF Supplementary Conditions of Contest clarify that each method will be 

considered as a separate system. A team is only allowed to file a maximum of 4 systems. Please also note 

that a pair is not allowed multiple methods for different vulnerabilities in a APBF pair tournament.  


